Writing Conferences

I’ve been looking into summer writing conferences this summer and getting both excited and bummed. It’s exciting because there are so many in California and it would be a great opportunity to meet people who love books as much as I do. Conferences give writers a chance to go to workshops, meet agents/admired authors/other writers, get critiques on your work, and have a week full of fun. I’ve never been to one, but I feel like it’s the thing to do if you intend to be an author someday soon, which I do. I’ve known for a long time that there’s a big writer’s conference every year right here in Santa Barbara. Ray Bradbury always attends and it would certainly make me feel confident going to my first conference in my own city.

I’ve also just learned about the Society of Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators (SCBWI) conference in LA, which sounds super exciting because Gail Carson Levine is a keynote speaker ❤ ❤ <3…probably one of my favorite authors of all time (Ella Enchanted and many others if you don’t recognize the name). http://www.scbwi.org/Conference.aspx?Con=6 . Some of the agents I’m currently querying will be there, too! I’m hoping to go to one of these conferences next summer, but there’s just one problem:

They are REALLY expensive! For a college student who can barely afford rent and groceries, these conferences are impossible for me to afford on my own. They are around $600 to attend and that does NOT include your hotel room and meals! Remember, it is a whole week, and it’s totally worth it, but still!

Which is why I am so stoked to spread the word about this “little” thing called Write On Con. It’s an online writing conference that gives you most of the perks of a live in-person conference, but it’s FREE. All the better for me, it’s focused on kid-lit! For Aug. 10-12 there will be agents offering critiques, authors doing live chats, and lots of making new writing friends. If you’re a writer, you should check it out at: WriteOnCon.com because you have NOTHING to lose by signing up! I’ve already joined and started saying hello to people on the forums. ~sigh~ Don’t you just love technology?

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. amkuska
    Jul 22, 2010 @ 04:29:49

    I am so excited you mentioned this! I’ve been looking into writing conferences in my area. The money thing isn’t an issue, but I would prefer to be at least close to my home. I don’t have a lot of free time, and it’s important that the ones I go to will leave me exhausted from writing related events, not travel.

    I’m definitely bookmarking this.

    Reply

  2. anitanolan
    Jul 22, 2010 @ 20:32:45

    I’m going to check out Writer Con. Thanks for mentioning.

    If you’re on the East Coast, check out the NJ SCBWI conference (June) and the many workshops during the fall, winter, spring. There’s only a partial list up now, but more will come as the summer and fall go on. http://www.newjerseyscbwi.com/allevents.shtml

    Reply

  3. shamslayer
    Jul 31, 2010 @ 17:39:11

    Thanks for the info!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

