No NaNoWriMo (for Me)

In case you don’t know, NaNoWriMo stands for National Novel Writing Month, which is when people all over the world try to write 50,000 words (a little under 100 pages) of a novel in November. Yeah, it’s crazy, but that’s why they do it.

It’s not that I’m anti-Nano–there are people out there who fall into that category, but personally, I think they’re a little on the snobby side. No, I definitely support my friends who bushwhack through 50,000 words in 31 days, especially when those days are at the busiest time of the semester. It’s simply never been a wise idea for me because…(cue list!)

1. I have never had success writing during the school year. It doesn’t matter how much time I have on my hands, I cannot discipline myself to write unless it’s over a long break. I do my best work during the summer and Christmas break when I don’t have homework and friends distracting me. If only NaNo was in July, I’d have a chance!

2. I’ve always been focusing on polishing my current novel and I don’t like to start new projects–especially big ones–before I’ve finished what I’ve already started.

3. I have realized that novels are all very well and good, but if I’m going to make money off my writing, accumulating a portfolio of short stories is vastly more practical and reliable than the never-ending process of trying to publish a novel.

4. Confession: I don’t know if I’m willing to send my inner editor to the dog house for an entire month. It would probably be a great lesson to learn, but nothing is harder for me than banishing the perfectionist in me and I’m not sure if my psyche could stand the separation. It probably could. I’m just a wimp.

Interestingly, while I have never done NaNo, I <i>have</i> read the how-to book called <i>No Plot? No Problem</i> by Chris Baty. I’ve read it many times and own it, in fact! It’s excellent advice even if you’re a non-NaNo-er like me. It’s a quick read, very witty, and absolutely chock-full of advice for anyone attempting to get through a first draft.

I have a few friends who have won NaNo, but are not doing it again this year (sometimes, once is more than enough!). But good luck to Courtney, Hannah, and Chelsea, the three friends I know who are doing NaNo this year! If you read this, wanna leave a nice shiny comment to update me on how it’s coming along? Anyone else out there doing NaNo?

OH! And also, my Hansel and Gretal retelling is published and viewable at Enchanted Conversation. I wrote it during a summer where I was watching Dr. Who and Star Trek 24/7, so that explains why I picked the genre I did. Check it out: http://www.enchantedconversation.org/2010/11/sugarcoated-by-tahlia-merrill.html

No new news on queries…I’m beginning to think I should cross them off my list as “no response”.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Chelsea
    Nov 11, 2010 @ 07:03:21

    Ahhh it’s going so great. So much better than I thought, actually. I’m producing a lot of crap (to be expected) but surprisingly, I’m producing a lot of stuff that I’m really proud of, too.

    I’m actually already 32,000 words in, hahaha. I may be insane. I never thought I would be able to turn off my inner editor, but actually, it’s quite liberating!

    Reply

  2. missmystra
    Nov 11, 2010 @ 07:17:04

    Woot! Woot! I’m sure you’ll need the momentum for when/if the final haul proves difficult. You’re a veteran of this, aren’t you, Chelsea?

    Reply

  3. Trackback: Create Your Own Writing Retreat « To Reach the Unreachable Star

Leave a Reply

