I Wanna Be a Slush Pile Queen!

Written last night:

 

I had a wonderfully exciting day (hence why I have to blog about it at midnight rather than going to bed like a sensible person).

While my social media internship with EC is technically over, I’ve continued to help Kate (my editor) with the magazine. What can I say, I like learning new things!

I’ve been playing around with Google AdWords, but that’s a subject for an entire post of its own. I’ve also been putting my Almost-Communications major to good use by writing a survey to help us find out our readers’ demographics. Again, I’ll be sure to devote a whole post to this in the future.

The really exciting new thing of today was getting to sort through EC submissions! I was emailed 25 short stories and poems for the upcoming Cinderella issue and told to narrow them down to the two best. This is the sort of work I’ve been hoping to do since I decided to go into publishing in high school. I have this secret fantasy of being sent into a large room with floor-to-ceiling slush pile manuscripts and digging through them in search of the undiscovered “chosen ones.” Today, I got a taste of what that would be like and I was in heaven

 

Call me crazy, but this is actually my dream job!

 

Sidenote: For those of you who know that I submit my own stories to EC, let me assure you that I don’t make any of the final decisions on what ends up in the magazine and there’s no way for me to tip the scales in favor of my own stories. I also have a few friends who submit to EC and another editor evaluates those pieces so there’s no danger of a personal bias on my part.

Now, I fancy myself a pretty critical person, so I was actually surprised at how many of them I genuinely enjoyed. There really weren’t that many “slushy” submissions. People generally followed the guidelines and sent in polished, creative work. I wish I could gush over some of the submissions here, but I’m afraid it would be unprofessional on such a public venue. Suffice it to say that there were quite a few gush-worthy pieces even though they didn’t all make it into the “accept” pile. It definitely made me feel a heck of a lot better about the times I’ve been rejected!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. hotshot bald cop
    Aug 30, 2011 @ 06:17:14

    Wow! That is an exciting slant.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

