Technical Happenings

I’ve decided to return to my old theme because as much as I love the professionalism of the leather planner look, it lacked personality and warmth. Now I just have to find an appropriate header.

 

Warning: This post might be unintentionally confusing or boring. I’ll do my best to make it clear and interesting, but I’m not sure if I will succeed.

Alright, so as promised, here’s the rundown of what it’s like to work with Google AdWords!
Google AdWords is a way for you to display a simple 2-line ad for your company in the sidebar of Google. This ad only shows up to people if they enter certain search terms (also known as Keywords). You get to select which Keywords are most likely to attract potential readers.

I had never even heard of AdWords until I read through that thick Online Marketing For Dummies book and since the book came with a free $55 AdWords credit, I figured it would be worth investigating for Enchanted Conversation. I discovered that the program is a bit of a paradox. On one hand, it’s oh-so-simple. After all, Google’s specialty is making things simple. And yet, AdWords is incredibly complex because it has nearly infinite potential for usefulness.  For my trial run, I tried to focus on just the basics.

This is an example of what the form to write the ad looks like. Notice how short it is. You definitely need a product or company that is easy to describe. Fortunately, mine is and these were the words I used:

The next step was to make a list of Keywords, the longer the better. I picked out the obvious: “Fairy Tales”, “Fairy Tale Retellings”, “Snow White”,  “Rumpelstiltskin”, “Cinderella retold”, etc. The nice thing about AdWords is that you pay per clicks on your ad. So if nobody clicks on your ad, you don’t pay a cent!

The price of a click varies depending on how popular the keyword is. So it will charge me $3.00 per click when someone finds the ad by searching for “fairy tale”, but I only have to pay $1.38 for a click from a more obscure word such as Rumpelstiltskin.

I started running the ad on August 4 and then I hit a hiccup. Right while I was at the writing conference, I received an email saying that exclamation points weren’t allowed in ads. So for a week or two, while I was busy with conference aftermath, the ad didn’t run, which didn’t really hurt anything. Soon enough, I took out the exclamation marks and we were up and running again.

Over the course of seven days, we spent all $55 of the credit and accumulated a total of 49 clicks on our ad. Hopefully, some of those will become faithful readers or writers in the future. This is what the numbers looked like:

Aug 21 $10.04
Aug 20 $11.90
Aug 19 $12.00
Aug 18 $10.97
Aug 7 $1.34
Aug 5 $2.61
Aug 4 $5.95

Now, I think it’s a bit expensive for a non-profit magazine to pay over a dollar per click, so I doubt we’ll have the funds to continue the ad. But considering that all it cost us to get 49 clicks was the time to learn the program, I think it was quite a success!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. hotshot bald cop
    Aug 30, 2011 @ 07:03:55

    Wonderful ideas

    Reply

Leave a Reply

