The Tale of the Almost-Communication Major

  Once upon  a time,

  there was a girl

  who swore

  she would never be an English major.

  This is my story.

 

 

 

 

 

Dun dun DUN!

Actually, I won’t go into the nitty gritty details of why I avoided being an English major. Let’s just say that I had one too many traumatic encounters with literature in high school. Eventually, I gave in because English was the only way I could take fit creative writing classes into my schedule.

But before I was an English major, I was a Communications major. A lot of people don’t really understand what Comm majors do and that’s because the approach isn’t the same at every college. Some schools teach it from a skill-based angle. You learn how to work television/radio/journalism equipment and the curriculum is very hands-on. The second approach (the one Westmont teaches) is more academic. You study rhetoric, social psychology, and media theory.

I enjoyed studying conflict resolution and media influence, but there was a lot of research and, believe it or not, lab work! Even journalism classes were in the English department. I was on the wrong path for the career I ultimately wanted. So at the end of my sophomore year, I broke my solemn oath to myself and switched to English. And I was much happier for it.

But here’s the interesting part:

My almost-communications-major is actually helping me now. Seriously, liberal arts schools like Westmont harp on the importance of a well-rounded education, and it gets really annoying, but they are SO right!  My internship this summer asked me to help them out with a thing called Target Marketing. Because of my Comm. Research class, I already knew how to write surveys to gather information about an audience, so within a half an hour, I had come up with an online survey for our readers.

An example of an online survey page

Moral of the story: Don’t exclusively take classes in things you’re already good at. Especially if you’re an English major 🙂

Leave a Reply

