Yo Ho, an Editor’s Life For Me!

Timeless Tales LogoExciting news, guys! I’ve decided to start my own online magazine!

Disclaimer: The title of this post is deceptive. There is nothing piratey about this post. Yes, yes, I know this is a tragedy. Sorry for the tease, pirate lovers.

Anyway…

I didn’t want to mention this until I’d committed myself to it and come up with a title. I just settled on a title magazine this morning,  I’ll be calling it: Timeless Tales Magazine. The domain name is bought and I’ve signed up with a hosting site, so there’s no going back now 🙂

THE BACKSTORY (how this came about):

Right after Enchanted Conversation’s “Cinderella” issue came out, Kate (the creator and editor) announced that the magazine would be closing.  I’ve grown very attached to the magazine and I was sad to hear this news because there isn’t another magazine like it out there.

Both Kate and I were very interested in the possibility of me buying EC and spent a lot of time emailing back and forth about the details. In the end, it wasn’t possible, though. If I had bought it, legal stuff would force me to run the magazine as a non-profit and since I *cough* don’t have a job, I can’t commit myself to this as a hobby.

Kate suggested starting my own magazine and after consulting one of my brilliant business major friends, I decided to give it a shot.

THE VISION:
Fairy tale retellings will be a central part of the magazine, just like with EC, but I’ll be adding a mythology component because I have a passion for classic mythology (particularly Greek, but also Egyptian, Norse etc.) and I think our readers would appreciate the occasional detour into the immortal’s realm.

But we’re going to start out with fairy tales and here’s the list:

1. Puss In Boots
2. Baba Yaga
3. The Twelve Dancing Princesses
4. Bluebeard

I don’t know yet how often issues will come out or what our pay rate will be. Right now, the plan is to open the site right after EC publishes their last issue in December.

If you want to keep up with all details, head over to Diamonds and Toads. It will be the official blog for the magazine and that’s where most of my future readers will be hanging out. 

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Courtney Mohland
    Oct 14, 2011 @ 22:24:54

    Oh my god. Did I ever tell you I wrote an entire story based off of the Twelve Dancing Princesses when I was a junior in high school? I wonder if any of it is salvageable.

    Reply

  2. MissMystra
    Oct 14, 2011 @ 22:37:07

    Really? That’s awesome! Well, you have plenty of time to polish it up!

    Reply

    • Brigit Byron Coons
      Apr 10, 2014 @ 22:38:33

      MissMystra,
      I am Brigit Byron Coons, the artist who painted the image you are using without authorization. Timeless is a copyright protected image. Please remove it from your site.
      If you want to further use it to promote your site or book please contact me.

      BBC

      Reply

  3. Trackback: What’s Next? | To Reach the Unreachable Star
  4. Trackback: Today | Yoga With Maheshwari
  5. David Meredith
    Apr 15, 2014 @ 03:37:42

    My name is David Meredith and I very recently came across your book blog. I recently released a novel – The Reflections of Queen Snow White – on Amazon.com in the Kindle Store and would be happy to send you a complimentary copy if you would be interested in reviewing it. I have included the dust cover synopsis below. If you are interested, just reply to this e-mail and I will happily send you your free copy right away. Thank you for your time and I look forward to your response!

    What happens when “happily ever after” has come and gone?

    On the eve of her only daughter, Princess Raven’s wedding, an aging Snow White finds it impossible to share in the joyous spirit of the occasion. The ceremony itself promises to be the most glamorous social event of the decade. Snow White’s castle has been meticulously scrubbed, polished and opulently decorated for the celebration. It is already nearly bursting with jubilant guests and merry well-wishers. Prince Edel, Raven’s fiancé, is a fine man from a neighboring kingdom and Snow White’s own domain is prosperous and at peace. Things could not be better, in fact, except for one thing:

    The king is dead.

    The queen has been in a moribund state of hopeless depression for over a year with no end in sight. It is only when, in a fit of bitter despair, she seeks solitude in the vastness of her own sprawling castle and climbs a long disused and forgotten tower stair that she comes face to face with herself in the very same magic mirror used by her stepmother of old.

    It promises her respite in its shimmering depths, but can Snow White trust a device that was so precious to a woman who sought to cause her such irreparable harm? Can she confront the demons of her own difficult past to discover a better future for herself and her family? And finally, can she release her soul-crushing grief and suffocating loneliness to once again discover what “happily ever after” really means?

    Only time will tell as she wrestles with her past and is forced to confront The Reflections of Queen Snow White.

    Available on Amazon here:

    http://www.amazon.com/Reflections-Queen-Snow-White-ebook/dp/B00FLF4JAG/

    Feel free to check out my Facebook page:

    https://www.facebook.com/DavidMeredithWriting
    Or my web page!

    http://davidmeredithwriting.com

    Goodreads:

    https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/18780192-the-reflections-of-queen-snow-white?ac=1

    Rising Shadow Reviews:

    http://www.risingshadow.net/library?action=book&book_id=44449

    Twitter:

    @DMeredith2013

    I’m also on Linked-In!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

