Create Your Own Writing Retreat

In a few hours, I’ll be leaving to visit my good friend Courtney for a few days. While I am bringing along a stack of board games and I imagine we’ll have several long talks about life/the universe/everything, our main goal is to help each other with our writing.

Me and Courtney

Courtney is close to self-publishing her first book online and I have been so focused on job hunting and building the Timeless Tales website that I desperately need rewriting time for my own novel. We’re also going to spend a lot of time planning out the ending of Guardian Ghost because I think the story has a lot of promise for publication if we can just finish writing it.  I mean, who wouldn’t want to read about a girl who works as a therapist for ghosts? The original rules of our letter game were that we were supposed to finish the story without discussing it, but that was when we were just doing it for fun. Now that we are taking G.G’s future more seriously, we realize that a little planning now might save us a ton of rewriting headaches later.

It’s nice when writing doesn’t have to be a solitary pursuit. It’s even better when you can get that buzz of collaboration without having to pay a ton of money! I also have connected with a wonderful group of SCBWI ladies and once a month we have a large meeting (called a “shmooze”) at a restaurant or someone’s house where we talk about our current projects. And then there are four of us in a critique group who meet more often to give each other feedback on our work. Accountability is a powerful tool for writers.

Speaking of accountability…Who’s doing NaNoWriMo??? Come on, don’t be shy, just admit it and then feel the pressure of our expectations pushing you to actually win this year. This is my post from last year about why I’ve never tried it myself.

This year, if I didn’t have the magazine to plan, I would give NaNo a shot. Alas, I need to stay focused on the magazine, so I have to pass on the opportunity. Maybe next year, though. Best of luck to all my friends who are attempting it this year. I’m rooting for you!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Kate W.
    Oct 23, 2011 @ 22:39:45

    Your venture will be brilliant. I can’t wait!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

