Flash, Bang, Alacazam!

Timothy Zahn will have to wait because I have landed a job–the real kind where you work in an office and have a boss and everything!  And just when I was starting to worry about making a living off of the webzine I’m starting!

I’d intended on writing a lengthy and detailed post about the circumstances and the future, but I’m afraid I simply do not have time right now. Because, you see, the job is in Camarillo and I live a good seven hours north in Sacramento, so I am relocating…this weekend because I start work on Monday! GAHHHHH! Life just went from zero to sixty in less than a week! (Note to self: Do your readers a favor and lay off on the exclamation points.) It’s a good thing I’ve been a good girl these past months with keeping a regular sleep schedule and eating healthily because these next few weeks are going to be crazy! (Dangit, did it again…)

I’m going to be the new administrative assistant for Movieguide, a Christian company that helps families make informed choices in their entertainment. I was actually quite familiar with the company before applying because I grew up reading their magazine, which gave me a lot of respect for them. I’ve always been fascinated by the effect of the media on our minds and culture, but I’ll write more about that another time.

Needless to say, we are in full “Let’s get down to business to defeat the Huns” mode over here. Yesterday, when I found out, I called a bunch of my relatives to let them know that I will soon be a respectable member of society. And then I proceeded to make SIX lists: Housing, transportation, packing, budget, general to-do, and questions to get answered. I have triumphantly unsubscribed from the million job searching emails that have been clogging up my inbox for months.

I wish I could celebrate more thoroughly here, but I am in the throws of packing and there isn’t much time for me to get everything done. So far, everything is going unusually well. I can’t be sure yet, but I *think* I’ve found a place to stay in the area and much of my stuff is still in boxes in storage, so it’s easy to retrieve.

I’ve received an overwhelming amount of support from my parents on this, so a big thank-you to them for being willing to drop everything and help me figure this move out. It was also amazing to see how many of my friends and family on facebook sent me extremely enthusiastic congratulations about this. Seriously, my facebook peeps know how agonizing unemployment has been for me, and I’m sure they’re very relieved they won’t have to hear any more of my “I feel so useless” rants.

Note: Not sure how, but I’m still going to be launching Timeless Tales Magazine in December, but I’m going to give myself permission to not think about HOW until next Saturday. Luckily, we’ve done the biggest chunk of the work already, so my hope is that it won’t be too hard. Hey, maybe I can actually pay my wonderful web designer friend some money for his work now! That would make me pretty happy 🙂

Sorry about the lack of pictures in this post! I’m seriously dashing this off as fast as I can because I need to keep packing.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Linda Merrill
    Nov 11, 2011 @ 19:56:59

    so happy for you…keep us updated

    Reply

  2. Sandie Sing
    Nov 11, 2011 @ 23:17:39

    I am so happy for you Tahilia. You are very fortunate to find a job in the writing field. Best of luck to you and the new job. Please keep us updated on life and all.
    Congrats!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

