Haven’t You Noticed, Suddenly I’m Bright and Breezy…

I start work tomorrow, but wanted to dash off a post to let you all know what’s going on. Wow, since when did this blog become about my daily life? Ummm, sorry about that! I’ll get back to business as soon as things settle down.

Okay, so this is going to be a sort of FAQ about my life right now:

1. Where are you living? 

Answer: Thanks to my parents’ amazing emailing skills, I’m renting a room from a family in Oxnard. I have high-speed internet, a queen-sized bed, lots of closet space, and I’m about 20 minutes from work, so I’m pretty dang content. They have six kids, which will be a huge adjustment for me…oh, wait, actually that isn’t too different from college life 😛

2. Do you have a car? 

Answer: YES! Because the job offer gave me short notice for starting, my generous and incredibly trusting parents  have given me their car and will be buying a new-used one when they get back home. I’m sooooo nervous that something bad is going to happen to this car while its under my watch. It’s served us faithfully for many years and I sort of see it as an old friend, so I’d hate to be the person who hurt it. Plus, I do NOT want to have that conversation with my parents EVER!

3. What about Thanksgiving?

Answer: Not sure yet, but probably won’t make it back home considering that I *just* got here. The family I’m staying with goes away for Thanksgiving, so I might enjoy some introvert time OR I might see who’s around at Westmont then, or who knows! I am going to keep my options open on this one.

4. What are you most excited about?

Answer: Honey tasting! There are two places around here that have honey tasting. I’ve been wanting to start this as a hobby, so talk about perfect! Also, I cannot wait to go to Yogurtland again. Even though it’s winter, I have missed it so much, I’ll definitely go this week!

Last week, I was bemoaning that I'd miss this. Not anymore!

MUST TRY Blackberry Lemon Mint Tart frozen yogurt!

5. OMG, you’re near Westmont now–VISIT US!!! 

Answer: All in good time, my pretties. All in good time. 🙂

6. Can I visit you???

Answer: Yes as long as it’s on a weekend or after work during the week! Just send me a text/facebook message/etc. and we’ll work something out. The family has said I can have friends over, but if you plan to stay for a while, I might suggest we go to a coffee shop so we don’t bug them.

Oh, and as a post-script, I’d just like to rave about my parents one more time. Seriously, they’ve been my heroes this weekend. We’re all naturally a bunch of slow moving, fussy homebodies, so I wasn’t sure if we could pull this move off at all, considering how much everything had to be thrown together at the last minute. My parents were troopers above and beyond the call of duty. I’ve had to relocate a bunch of times since I started college and every time has been painful and often had me in hysterics because of the stress. This time, despite the fact that we had the hardest circumstances to work around, it went relatively smoothly. So for their repeated acts of parental courage this weekend, in the face of  trying times, they get a shiny medal of valor. Although, we definitely were on each others nerves a lot this weekend because of the stress. 😛

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. goingpostale
    Nov 14, 2011 @ 07:03:08

    If you really want somewhere to go for Thanksgiving, you’re more than welcome to join my family! I live in Simi (30-35ish minutes from Oxnard) but we might be doing the big dinner at my mum’s house (which is another 15-20 minutes past Simi). If you’re looking for somewhere to go, I’d love to have you.

    Caitlin

    Reply

  2. MissMystra
    Nov 14, 2011 @ 14:42:38

    That would be lovely! I don’t want to commit to anything until later this week, but it’s good to know I have prospects 🙂

    Reply

  3. Sofia
    Nov 15, 2011 @ 07:22:54

    Congrats on the job! I’m glad the move went well for you–moving can be so stressful.

    Reply

  4. Dave & Cherie
    Nov 16, 2011 @ 02:47:10

    talk about miracles—–you definately had your share this past weekend! Can’t wait to hear about your first days on the job. We are going to a big train show in Buffalo on Sat—-in uniform again. ginger bread house went well–best kaitlyn has ever done. Went to U of R Sun–let K sleep in and also her Nana! Took her friend Paige and my friend Martha. Took sandwiches and snacks and got there and no one else there—walk was LAST Sun! We had paid our fees, didn’t get the prepaid T-shirts. The girls wanted to go to the Strong Museum of Play. So that is where we spent the afternoon. We will have Turkey day with Squeak and Angie only at a restaurant in LeRoy. They’ll go back on Friday.

    Reply

  5. Dave & Cherie
    Nov 19, 2011 @ 02:24:47

    We’ve waited patiently the whole week while you worked. Now tell us about it!!! Nana & Mr. Dave

    Reply

Leave a Reply

