ARCs and My New Groove

Half of you are probably dying to hear about my new job and the other half are dying for me to talk about writing/reading stuff again, so I’m going to try and please both sides today. The job stuff will come last since my last three posts were “about my life” type things.

Part 1: …

I’ve been sitting on some news for a few weeks, but I think I’m ready to share it now. Look at what I have, guys!

That’s right! It’s an ARC (Advanced Reading Copy) of a book called Cinder by debut author Marissa Meyer. And it’s mine! All mine!

The book officially comes out in January, but I get to read it now.

Marissa is a longtime follower of Diamonds and Toads and when she sent me an email asking if I’d like to review her book for the blog, I couldn’t say “YesYesYes!” fast enough! I won’t give you too much detail here because I’ll be interviewing Marissa about her book on Diamonds and Toads sometime in December. I’ll just say that Cinder is a sci-fi retelling of Cinderella where the main character is a cyborg. And yes, it’s as awesome as it sounds. I’m currently about 75% through reading it and it’s really good! Best part is that it’s going to become a trilogy. Definitely keep an eye out for it when it comes out.

Part 2: My New Groove

Alright, so I’ll be honest, the first two weeks of my new job were overwhelming. My boss is a very popular guy and very in demand for interviews and meetings, so I really had to hit the ground running, which was difficult when I wasn’t familiar with Mac, which is what our office uses. I’m a pretty confident person, but I honestly had a day or two when I wasn’t sure if I could learn it all fast enough. Thank goodness, I’m finally getting the hang of it now–I’m still making more mistakes than I’d like, but at least I think managing it all is possible.

Working full time hours has been a huge shock to me. I’ve done it before, of course, but I definitely got a bad case of whiplash coming off of a summer of empty days to a job that goes 8:45 am – 6:00 pm. And a few times, I’ve stayed later than necessary because I was woefully behind on my task list and didn’t want to leave until I felt like I’d done something useful that day.

So…yeah, it’s a challenge, but it’s worth it. It’s great having a job that is never boring and I always feel needed, that’s for sure! And I’m sure most of my complaints will die down once the first paycheck comes in this week.

There’s a lot that’s fun about the job too. For example, 80% of our mail is screener copies or dvds of movies, which are always exciting to open. My boss is friends with a ton of Hollywood people, so I’ve heard some great stories. Heck, I’ve probably talked to someone who’s worked on a famous movie without even knowing it!

I won’t be posting stories about the office on my blog, by the way. Discretion is very important in this business and I wouldn’t want to get in trouble for saying something I shouldn’t.

Alright, I’m just going to leave you with this clip from Despicable Me to give you a glimpse into how I feel living in a house with so many little kids. I am SUCH a Gru–kids really aren’t my thing, but these kids are really smart and cool, so they’ve won me over. I *really* wanted the scene where Gru reads the Unicorn book to the kids, but I couldn’t find it 😦

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Marissa Meyer
    Nov 27, 2011 @ 16:13:53

    ^_^ Yay, I’m glad it arrived safely and you’re enjoying it!

    And your new job sounds like a lot of fun! There’s a lot to be said for feeling needed. 🙂

    Reply

  2. dixieleechan
    Nov 27, 2011 @ 19:08:32

    Wow! Sounds like your new job/life may enough fodder for some great books! You have a very enviable position and I know you’ll be a ‘star’.
    Continue to keep us posted.
    dlc

    Reply

Leave a Reply

