Deep In The Heart Of…

Woman packing overstuff suitcaseTexas!

R has landed a new job, which means we are mere days away from moving to Austin. The past two months have been a chain of uncertainties and they just keep coming. Most of my readers are friends and family, so I don’t want to rehash the entire story, so I’ll answer your questions in the comments.

 

I believe “excited” is insufficient to describe our feelings, so I’ll go a bit deeper and say we are feeling triumphant. In the interest of being professional, I haven’t blogged about a lot of the past two years’ drama, and I don’t want to indulge the urge to air grievances now,  but let’s just say that we’ve been searching a long time for this chance. I can now join the ranks of women who call their husband “my hero”. It’s a saccharine sentiment, but he’s definitely earned it. Of course, as hard as we worked to make this happen, the timing and smooth transitions we’ve encountered have been too outrageously perfect to be anything other than the guiding hand of God.

The loose end in all of this, of course, is finding ME a new job. I’ve already had some leads, but nothing locked in yet. Worst case scenario means using money budgeted in our savings to pay apartment rent for two months, and then we’ll be living off of R’s income unless until I find something. I’ve never had much success job searching online, so I’m taking the networking route this time. Hopefully, it’ll turn up something tasty.

Austin Texas Lake Front

It’s tough leaving friends and family in California, but we’ll be back someday, once our careers are further along. Plus, R’s new job gives him 15 vacation days, so visiting home for the holidays is finally an option. Vacation time is worth more than any salary increase–can I get an “Amen”? Every time turbulence shakes our focus, I look at our path and grin. There is no doubt in my mind that this whirlwind is worth it.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. emzyv23
    Mar 10, 2014 @ 15:41:12

    What a sweet post! Good luck to you and your husband!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

