Dear Canva: Where Have You Been All My Life?

Canva-Logo-1-250x200 Yesterday, I raved about how Wix is the only reason Timeless Tales is a reality. However, even with Wix, there’s still one element of my website I struggle with on a daily basis: Graphics.

Hands down, the biggest time sink running T.T. is trolling the internet for public domain images to crop/filter/layer into something that will hopefully give my website more personality and polish. It’s exhausting! Especially because I’ve never learned any design programs (Photoshop, Illustrator, InDesign, etc.).

Considering Wix isn’t in the graphics business, it does a great job providing stock photos and clipart. However, it doesn’t let you customize its clipart much (no color swapping). Besides, this is an area where there is simply no such thing as enough.

Cue Canva! A free site I found just this week. Canva both supplies tons of customizable clipart/stock photos and is a tool to stick them together for projects. And don’t get me started on their font selection! Time for a website makeover!

Before:

PandoraCoverSubmissions2

 

After:

531 x 230 Pandora's Box

 

Before:

Puss in Boots Cover

 

After:

PussSlider 530x230 second

 

Before (cover page for TT’s facebook page):

 

imágenes-vintage-gratis-fondo - Copy

 

After:

TT FB Cover Page

Before (TT’s facebook profile pic):

 

48efd8757c6192d6

 

After:

180 x 180 TT FB Profile Pic

 

I rest my case.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Steves Mail
    Apr 18, 2014 @ 20:49:10

    Hey, Talia! How you doin’?? How you likin’ married life? It’s good, isn’t it…! Listen, I’ve been emjoying your posts about your website developments. I may have top try Wix, myself. Did I read correctly that you’re looking for submissions? If so, I’ve got something I’d like to send you, for your consideration.

    Hope this finds you and yours Well, Blessed, and Prospering, Have A Blessed Easter Holiday, Love You Always, “unc”

    Reply

  2. MissMystra
    Apr 18, 2014 @ 21:14:05

    Hi, Uncle Steve! Yep, married life is pretty awesome–best decision I’ve ever made. Yes, our Pandora’s Box theme is open until the end of the month and I would LOVE to get a retelling from you. Here are the submission guidelines: http://www.timelesstalesmagazine.com/#!submissions/c1vmu

    Reply

Leave a Reply

