2016 Resolutions

Last year, I talked about how I don’t like resolutions because, if you want to do something, why wait until January 1st to set a goal? In fact, my husband and I already set ourselves monthly goals. Sometimes it’s good to evaluate big picture stuff, though, and the start of a new year works just fine.

 

So, just to recap, these were my 2015 Resolutions:

 

1. Contribute $20/month to a cause I believe in (see previous post for my update on that)

 

2. Be more informed about local politics.

Result: I now give our monthly local community paper a thorough reading whenever it comes in the mail. I now know that our governor’s name is Greg Abbott. A few months ago when I saw picketing signs for “Say No to the PUD”, I knew they wanted to stop housing developments being built in Austin.

 

AustinPaper

Also, I’ve been listening to NPR during my commute. This definitely has made me more knowledgeable because it helped me win Scattergories with “Netanyahu” (president of Israel) as a World Leader whose name starts with N. Bam!

3. Read through Auto Repair for Dummies. Auto

Result: Ermmm, I kinda read through the book, but haven’t finished it yet. It has helped me diagnose several of my car problems this year. They were things I couldn’t fix on my own, but I think the mechanics respected me more because I knew what I was talking about.

2016 Resolutions

1. Experience Austin
In general, we’re pretty happy with our lives, but we discussed how we don’t feel like we’re taking full advantage of living in such a lively city. There’s so much to do here and we mostly stick to our favorite local hangout, Emerald Tavern and Games. So this year, we’re going to make an effort to visit a new location once a month. This can include restaurants, parks, or museums, but probably not friends’ houses.
And our first destination will be…
Zilker
2. Maintain friendships 
You know how it is after you graduate. If your out-of-town friends aren’t actively posting on facebook, they basically don’t exist in your life anymore. I made lots of deep friendships in high school and college that I’ve let drift indefinitely because keeping in touch is hard. Well, this year, I’m going to stop feeling guilty about it and set up a skype date with one friend every month…ummm, since it’s January 24th already, I might want to figure out who that first person should be…eek!

 

Headshot

Who will it be????

 

Leave a Reply

